DAILY DEVOTIONAL: Wednesday, July 9

READ: Matthew 5:5

“Blessed are the meek, for they shall inherit the earth”

 Many people misperceive meekness as weakness.  Meekness actually requires the Holy Spirit to bring us into a place of submission to God’s will in our lives.  Jesus is the perfect example of meekness when He continually chose to submit His will to the will of the Father.  When tempted, He used the Word of God to defeat Satan.  He had perfect self-control and never sinned.  He was obedient to do His Father’s will, even to the point of dying for us on the cross.  We would never say that Jesus was weak.  In His meekness, He accomplished the salvation of the human race, and He now sits at the right hand of God the Father.  He will one day soon take the title deed to the universe and return to set up His physical Kingdom here on earth.  Since we have submitted our lives to God through Jesus, we will reign with Him!  We can also serve Him obediently today.

REFLECT:

Am I letting God determine my priorities?  Ask God if you are letting Him decide what your personal priorities are in every area of your life.  Are you using your talents, resources, and spiritual gifts to impact people for Jesus, or are you choosing to indulge yourself?  We all struggle with this every day.  Ask God to help you be completely surrendered to Him in every area of your life.

TESTIMONY:

In my trying to manage time and people I almost missed my “appointment” to lead a sweet lady to the Lord.  It was one of the first groups coming through the line that day to the eye clinic.  A group of 4 ladies and one man came through, and Lance noticed there was no indication on their form that they had been through evangelism.  In my haste, I hadn’t noticed so I took a deep breath and said, “I’ll be glad to share.”  I asked if I could tell them a “Love story.”  I shared with them the love that God has for all of us and He gave His only Son for all our sins.  As I continued on with the plan of salvation, one precious lady raised her hand with tears in her eyes and wanted to pray the sinner’s prayer.  I was reminded, how many times do I miss opportunities just because of not taking time to listen to the Holy Spirit?

One response to “DAILY DEVOTIONAL: Wednesday, July 9”

  1. Mike Dickerson says :

    Thanks for sharing this. I had not thought about the differences between meekness and weakness.

Leave a comment